Staying on Track with Phoebe Sherry -About Me

Hi everyone, my name is Phoebe Sherry.

I am a 27 year old female who lives in New York. I also happen to be a person who lives with CP. I am a Community Engagement Associate at the Cerebral Palsy Foundation, also known as CPF since early February, 2018. Some brief history about me, I am a twin and was born 3 months prematurely. I was smaller out of the two of us (less than 2 pounds), but older by a minute. I always say she kicked me out because she needed more room. We both had a pretty rough start to life and needed help with breathing and feeding. I had more problems breathing than her and we were hospitalized at Lenox Hill in the Neonatal Intensive Care Unit for close to 3 months. My sister went home a few weeks before me.

Once we got home my Mom noticed that I wasn’t sitting up or crawling like my sister. She took me to the Doctor. and I was diagnosed with spastic diplegia cerebral palsy at six months. This means, for those who don’t know, I have stiffness primarily in my lower half of my body and specifically my legs.

I am very excited to be starting a blog. It is entitled Staying on Track with Phoebe Sherry. The past year I have been navigating the most efficient ways of getting to work. Whether it is by car, taxi or train each experience is memorable.

It can be as simple as if there is a curb cut or as complicated as will there be steps at a work event. No matter what it is it takes a lot of planning and thinking ahead.

Look forward to bringing you updates on my adventures each week!